diff mbox series

[9/9,v2] Add a license-change-2020.txt file

Message ID 87pn8wkdsz.fsf@redhat.com
State New
Headers show
Series Relicensing Libabigail to Apache 2.0 + LLVM Exception | expand

Commit Message

Dodji Seketeli July 15, 2020, 3:17 p.m. UTC
Add a license-change-2020.txt file which contains text explaining that
we went through a licence change in 2020 from LGPLv3+ to Apache-v2
with LLVM exception.

     * license-change-2020.txt: New file.

Signed-off-by: Dodji Seketeli <dodji@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Giuliano Procida <gprocida@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Matthias Maennich <maennich@google.com>
---
 license-change-2020.txt | 37 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 37 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 license-change-2020.txt

Comments

Jonathan Wakely July 16, 2020, 10:35 a.m. UTC | #1
On 15/07/20 17:17 +0200, Dodji Seketeli wrote:
>Add a license-change-2020.txt file which contains text explaining that
>we went through a licence change in 2020 from LGPLv3+ to Apache-v2
>with LLVM exception.
>
>     * license-change-2020.txt: New file.
>
>Signed-off-by: Dodji Seketeli <dodji@redhat.com>
>Signed-off-by: Giuliano Procida <gprocida@google.com>
>Signed-off-by: Matthias Maennich <maennich@google.com>

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Wakely <jwakely@redhat.com>
Dodji Seketeli July 16, 2020, 4:23 p.m. UTC | #2
Jonathan Wakely <jwakely@redhat.com> writes:

> On 15/07/20 17:17 +0200, Dodji Seketeli wrote:
>>Add a license-change-2020.txt file which contains text explaining that
>>we went through a licence change in 2020 from LGPLv3+ to Apache-v2
>>with LLVM exception.
>>
>>     * license-change-2020.txt: New file.
>>
>>Signed-off-by: Dodji Seketeli <dodji@redhat.com>
>>Signed-off-by: Giuliano Procida <gprocida@google.com>
>>Signed-off-by: Matthias Maennich <maennich@google.com>
>
> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Wakely <jwakely@redhat.com>

Applied, thanks.  It's going to show up in the v3 set of patches.  Until
then you can see this in the relicensing branch that can be browsed at
https://sourceware.org/git/?p=libabigail.git;a=shortlog;h=refs/heads/relicensing.

Cheers,
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/license-change-2020.txt b/license-change-2020.txt
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..1636220
--- /dev/null
+++ b/license-change-2020.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,37 @@ 
+As of its 2.0 version, as agreed by the committers listed below, the
+Libabigail project license was changed from LGPL version 3 or later to
+Apache License 2.0 with LLVM exception.
+
+The LGPLv3+ continues to apply to prior versions of the software.
+
+Here is the list of the committers who have agreed to the change:
+
+Benjamin Kosnik <b.dekosnik@gmail.com>
+Ben Woodard <woodard@redhat.com>
+Chenxiong Qi <cqi@redhat.com>
+Dodji Seketeli <dodji@redhat.com>
+Giuliano Procida <gprocida@google.com>
+Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@inai.de>
+Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org>
+Jonathan Wakely <jwakely@redhat.com>
+Mark Wielaard <mark@klomp.org>
+Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
+Matthias Maennich <maennich@google.com>
+Ondrej Oprala <ondrej.oprala@gmail.com>
+Roland McGrath <roland@hack.frob.com>
+Sinny Kumari <skumari@redhat.com>
+Slava Barinov <v.barinov@samsung.com>
+
+Please note that concerning the contributions of people working at
+Google, I (Dodji Seketeli) was forwarded the following from Matthias
+Maennich:
+
+    That is in response to all contributors from Google from the department
+    that is able to clarify open source licensing issues:
+
+    "Please let the maintainer know that Google LLC formally consents to
+    relicensing Googlers' contributions to libabigail to the LGPLv3 / Apache
+    2 with LLVM Exception license.
+
+    If the maintainer would like to direct one of the relicensing requests
+    to us directly, we'll be happy to respond in the affirmative."